Parks and Recreation Commission


  • Third Wednesday of every month
  • 6 p.m.
  • City Hall Council Chamber
    2175 Cherry Ave.
    Signal Hill, CA 90755

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to commission meetings.

Most Recent Agenda | View All

Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Minutes | View All

Members Title
Caroline Kiss-Lee Chair
Tim Anhorn Vice Chair
Linda Edwards Commissioner
Kiran Gidwani Commissioner
Pam Dutch Hughes Commissioner


A Parks and Recreation Commissioner receives $65 per meeting.

The Signal Hill Municipal Code Sections 2.32.090(D), 2.36.070(D), and 2.80.052(D) states that a commissioner who misses any regular commission meeting due to an unexcused absence, shall not be entitled to receive that portion of their regular monthly salary for such meeting, except that if any additional regular or special meeting is held that month and the commissioner attends such meeting, then the commissioner shall be entitled to their regular monthly salary, without deduction.


The Parks and Recreation Commission acts in an advisory capacity to the City Council and City staff. Its primary duty is to identify and recommend to the City the leisure-time activities, facilities, and services needed by the citizens of Signal Hill. The commission also recommends general policies concerning all parks and recreation properties, facilities, plans, programs, and activities, and may recommend a long-range program for the improvement, acquisition, and development of parks and recreation facilities for the extension of services.

Commission Facts

Signal Hill Municipal Code Sections 2.32.040, 2.36.020, and 2.80.045 state that no person who holds office in the City government or who is employed by the City shall be appointed to a commission.

Commission seats are filled through an application process. Interested residents including incumbent commissioners must apply. Commissioner candidates are interviewed and selected during a noticed public meeting of the City Council. Commissioners may serve on only one of the City's three commissions.